2018

BAAN DOI
Center for Agriculture
Mae Sae, Thailand

category
Designed, Masterplan

Photo: Sandra Köstner

Students project blog

The NGO Baan Doi is working with underprivileged children, orphans and kids from poor families, in the very north of Thailand. To be able to be more independant and to produce food for the comunity, an agriculture centre is going to be realized. The centre will include education-offers for elder kids from Baan Doi and will follow the principles of permaculture.
The 40.000m² building site has lately been used as a rice field. Over the next years several buildings for the farm, a community centre, a family house for administration and some guest houses are going to be built.

The project started with a research trip in September 2018. Six BASEhabitat students and two trainers went to the north of Thailand to get a first impression of the place. During winter term fifteen students developed a master plan and designed the 3 building complexes.

In February 2019 earthworks were started at the site in Mae Sae.

Photos: Sandra Köstner

Research and Design
Florian Dessl, Jitka Effenberger, Sascha Faulhaber, Huani Felinto, Valentina Hölzl, Stefanie Hueber, Patricia Jeglitsch, Marion Kohler, Sandra Köster, Johannes Meier, Ines Riess, Victoria Rognard, Alexandra Schartner, Jasmin Steinberg

Design supervision
Sigi Atteneder, Marlene Wagner

Consultants
Dominik Abbrederis, Pippa Buchanan, Gian Franco Noriega

Client
Baan Doi Home and Healing Center for Children

Sponsor
Karl Zünd Foundation

2018

BAAN DOI
Landwirtschaftszentrum
Mae Sae, Thailand

kategorie
Entwurf, Masterplan

Foto: Sandra Köstner

Projektblog der Studierenden

Die NGO Baan Doi arbeitet mit großer Umsicht mit benachteiligten Kindern, Waisen und Kindern aus armen Familienverhältnissen, in der nördlichsten Provinz in Thailand. Um sich eigenständig mit Nahrungsmitteln versorgen zu können, und um Ausbildungsangebote für die älteren Kinder zu schaffen, soll ein Landwirtschaftszentrum errichtet werden.

Das ca. 40.000m² große Grundstück ist derzeit noch ein Reisfeld, im Laufe der nächsten Jahre sollen dort neben Bauten für die Landwirtschaft auch ein Gemeinschaftszentrum, ein Familienhaus für die Verwalter und Gästehäuser entstehen.

Das Landwirtschaftszentrum wird nach den Prinzipien der Permakultur funktionieren. Eine sehr spannende Herausforderung auch für die Bauten in diesem Zentrum.

Bei einer Recherchereise in das Projektgebiet Ende September 2018 konnten Studierende und Lehrende einen ersten Eindruck vom Projektgebiet gewinnen. Im Rahmen des Entwurfsprojekts im Wintersemester haben 14 studierende einen Masterplan für das gesamte Grundstück und Pläne für die 3 Gebäudekomplexe entwickelt.

Im Februar 2019 konnte am Bauplatz in Thailand mit den ersten Erdarbeiten begonnen werden.

Fotos: Sandra Köstner

Recherche und Entwurf
Florian Dessl, Jitka Effenberger, Sascha Faulhaber, Huani Felinto, Valentina Hölzl, Stefanie Hueber, Patricia Jeglitsch, Marion Kohler, Sandra Köster, Johannes Meier, Ines Riess, Victoria Rognard, Alexandra Schartner, Jasmin Steinberg

Entwurfsbetreuung
Sigi Atteneder, Marlene Wagner

Beratung
Dominik Abbrederis, Pippa Buchanan, Gian Franco Noriega

Auftraggeberin
Baan Doi Home and Healing Center for Children

Sponsor
Karl Zünd Stiftung