2020

LITTLE JOHN'S growing up!
A place for children with special needs
Cisnadioara, Romania

category
Designed

Transilvanian village Photo: asociatia monumentum

Located in the picturesque region of Transilvania, Romania, “Little John’s” is a secure home for children and young adults with special needs. The organisation coordinating the project is providing either temporary housing and care, as well as permanent residence and care for the current 6 residents at “Little John’s”. In addition, “Little John’s” engages in the local community of Cisnadioara and its surroundings, offering regular free of charge activities and workshops, as well as an ongoing annual summerschool for children with special needs.

As the need for such programs is growing in the region, so must “Little John’s”. The almost 3000 m² site that the NGO currently manages, will accommodate a new multi-functional centre designated to host the “Little John’s” growing programs, summerschools and activities.
The 2-stories multi-functional centre will offer on the ground floor a large hall for group activities, flexible to partition according to the various programs, 2 seminar rooms for private sessions, sanitary facilities and a terrace. The upper floor is designated for volunteers and guests.

An important part of the design will be the relation of the new “Little John’s” centre to the local community in Cisnadioara. Our team of BASEhabitat students will analyse and draw inspiration from the traditional Transilvanian architecture and building culture, the materials and techniques used and integrate them into their designs. The project will have to integrate the local cultural heritage, but also accommodate the needs of modern life and the special needs of the “Little John’s” residents and guests. In order to ensure an optimal and healthy indoor climate, we will focus on local, sustainable materials. Special attention will be given to light, orientation and air circulation.

Little John's

Client
Little John’s Foundation

Design Supervision
Flavia Matei, Teresa König, Sigi Atteneder

Support in research
asociatia monumentum

2020

LITTLE JOHN'S wird groß!
Ein Ort für Kinder mit Behinderungen
Cisnadioara, Romania

kategorie
Entwurf

Dorf in Transsilvanien Foto: asociatia monumentum

“Little John‘s” befindet sich in der malerischen Region Transsilvanien in Rumänien und ist ein sicheres Zuhause für Kinder und junge Erwachsene mit besonderen Bedürfnissen. Der Verein, der das Projekt leitet, bietet sowohl temporäre Unterbringung und Betreuung sowie dauerhaften Aufenthalt und Betreuung für die derzeit 6 BewohnerInnen von “Little John‘s”. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich „Little John‘s“ in der lokalen Community von Cisnadioara und Umgebung und bietet regelmäßig kostenlose Aktivitäten und Workshops sowie eine laufende jährliche Sommerschule für Kinder mit besonderen Bedürfnissen an.

Da der Bedarf an solchen Programmen in der Region stetig steigt, muss auch „Little John‘s“ größer werden. Auf dem fast 3000 m² großen Gelände, das die NGO derzeit verwaltet, wird ein neues multifunktionales Zentrum gebaut, in dem die Programme, Sommerschulen und Aktivitäten von „Little John‘s“ stattfinden können.

Das zweistöckige multifunktionale Zentrum bietet im Erdgeschoss einen großen Saal für Gruppenaktivitäten, der je nach Programm flexibel unterteilt werden kann, 2 Seminarräume für private Gespräche, Sanitärbereiche und eine Terrasse. Das Obergeschoss ist für Freiwillige und Gäste vorgesehen.

Ein wichtiger Teil des Entwurfs wird die Beziehung des neuen “Little John‘s” Zentrums zur örtlichen Gemeinde in Cisnadioara darstellen. Unser Team von BASEhabitat-StudentInnen wird die traditionelle transsilvanische Architektur und Baukultur sowie die verwendeten Baumaterialien und Techniken analysieren, sich davon inspirieren lassen und sie in ihre Entwürfe integrieren. Das neue Bauprojekt muss eine Verbindung zum lokalen Kulturerbe schaffen, aber auch den Bedürfnissen des modernen Lebens und den besonderen Bedürfnissen der BewohnerInnen und Gäste von „Little John‘s“ gerecht werden. Um ein optimales und gesundes Raumklima zu gewährleisten, konzentrieren wir uns auf lokale, nachhaltige Baumaterialien. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf Orientierung des neuen Gebäudes, Licht- und Lüftungskonzepte gelegt.

Verein Little John's

Auftraggeber
Little John’s Foundation

Entwurfsbetreuung
Flavia Matei, Teresa König, Sigi Atteneder

Beratung in der Recherche
asociatia monumentum