2021 – 2021

INTO THE GARDEN
A pavillion in the Botanical Garden Linz
Linz, Austria

category
Built

Pavillion in the nature garden. Photo: Kurt Hoerbst

The Botanical Garden in Linz is one of the most beautiful and species-diverse gardens in Austria: on approximately 4.2 hectares, around 10,000 different plant species can be seen, different biotopes can be discovered and unique areas can be experienced. Various events and exhibitions around the year ensure a diverse and entertaining program for the residents of Linz and for all the guests of the Botanical Garden.

This year BASEhabitat is enriching the Botanical Garden with a new construction: a pavilion made of all-natural materials is being built and integrated into the impressive garden landscape. The compact pavilion offers a sitting area, opens up to various green oases within the surroundings and provides exhibition and information areas for visitors of all ages.

The central design theme was the fine line between object and context, as well as investigating the symbiosis between man-made architecture and placemaking and the green, natural landscape of the Botanical Garden. Carefulness and tranquility characterize the new place. The pavilion does not appear ostentatious, it does not intrude, but rather brings the diverse biotopes of the garden to the foreground. The new built intervention is in harmony with the surrounding and humbly complements the existing qualities of the Botanical Garden.

Section

Ground Plan

Photos: Kurt Hoerbst

Photos: Kurt Hoerbst

Client
Magistrat der Landeshauptstadt Linz
Stadtgrün und Straßenbetreuung
Abt. Botanischer Garten und Naturkundliche Station

Design Supervision
Dominik Abbrederis, Flavia Matei, Marta Rota

Consulting
Karl-Heinz Wagner
Klaus Hagenauer

Design
Nadine Dajanovic, Flora Kirnbauer, Monika Reddemann

Realization
Moritz Berger, Nadine Dajanovic, Semjon Fehr, Flora Kirnbauer, Monika Reddemann

Sponsors
friendship association of the botanical garden Linz
Grüne Erde
Kriegergut

2021 – 2021

INTO the GARDEN
Ein Pavillon im Botanischen Garten Linz
Linz, Österreich

kategorie
Gebaut

Pavillon im Naturgarten. Foto: Kurt Hoerbst

Der Botanische Garten in Linz zählt zu den schönsten und artenreichsten Gartenanlagen Österreichs: Auf ca. 4,2 ha sind rund 10.000 verschiedene Pflanzenarten zu sehen, unterschiedliche Biotope zu entdecken und individuelle Bereiche zu erleben. Sonderschauen, diverse Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen rund ums Jahr sorgen immer wieder für ein vielfältiges Programmangebot für die linzer BewohnerInnen und für alle Gäste des Botanischen Gartens.

BASEhabitat bereichert dieses Jahr den Botanischen Garten mit einem neuen Gebäude: Ein Pavillon aus rein natürlichen Materialien wird in die eindrucksvolle Gartenlandschaft auf der Linzer Gugl gebaut. Der kompakte Pavillon bietet Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten, eröffnet Blickwinkel zu den unterschiedlichen Grünoasen und bietet Ausstellungs- und Infobereiche für BesucherInnen aller Altersgruppen.

Zentral für den Entwurf war die feine Grenze zwischen Objekt und Kontext sowie eine Symbiose zwischen der Architektur und der Naturlandschaft des Botanischen Gartens. Behutsamkeit und Ruhe prägen den neuen Ort. Der Pavillon tritt nicht prächtig auf; Er rückt die vielfältigen Biotope des Gartens in den Vordergrund und stellt eine harmonische Intervention dar, die die bestehenden Qualitäten des Botanischen Gartens sensibel ergänzt.

Schnitt

Grundriss

Fotos: Kurt Hoerbst

Fotos: Kurt Hoerbst

Auftraggeber
Magistrat der Landeshauptstadt Linz
Stadtgrün und Straßenbetreuung
Abt. Botanischer Garten und Naturkundliche Station

Entwurfsbetreuung
Dominik Abbrederis, Flavia Matei, Marta Rota

Beratung
Karl-Heinz Wagner, Klaus Hagenauer

Entwurf
Nadine Dajanovic, Flora Kirnbauer, Monika Reddemann

Umsetzung
Moritz Berger, Nadine Dajanovic, Semjon Fehr, Flora Kirnbauer, Monika Reddemann

Sponsoren
Freundinnen und Freunde des Botanischen Gartens Linz
Grüne Erde
Kriegergut