2019

BOTSWANA housing
Housing alternatives and active neighbourhoods
Botswana

category
Designed, Research

Photo: Flavia Matei

Botswana is a middle-income country that is experiencing rapid cultural change and urbanisation, leading to an increasing demand for new homes and social spaces, both in the capital Gaborone and in the villages around it. Its already extreme climate with very hot summers and cold winters is exacerbated by the effects of climate change. The housing supply is struggling to meet the demand in terms of quantity, but often also in terms of quality. Many new build houses respond poorly to the climatic and cultural context. Materials used are often imported from as far away as Asia, and have a large ecological footprint. The change from living in relatively small village communities to living in larger urban neighbourhoods calls for new types of community spaces.

In October 2019, BASEHabitat students visited Botswana on a research trip to learn about the local context, and to forge vital connections with local project partners, including homeowners, architects and quantity surveyors and with organisations such as the University of Botswana and Botswana Housing Corporation, the government agency in charge of delivering social housing.

The students are now developing a range of proposals for improving housing conditions and developing neighbourhoods that respond to the cultural, climatic, ecological and economic constraints. These proposals operate within different parts of the housing sector in Botswana, both commercial and public.

The proposals will be presented to and further developed with our partners in Botswana, forming the basis for a longer term dialog and cooperation.

“We aim to investigate the topic of housing in Botswana and to develop solutions that are architecturally ambitious and environmentally friendly.”

Flavia Matei (teacher BASEhabitat)

Photos: Flavia Matei

Research and Design
Franziska Brandenstein, Stefanie Hueber, Adnane Karouach, Daniela Lockowandt, Annette Strack, Lena Lisbeth Teufl, Julia Treitinger, Jamie Wagner, Vinzent Wallner

Design Supervision
Sigi Atteneder, Elisa Engel, Flavia Matei

2019

BOTSWANA housing
Alternative Wohnmodelle und aktive Nachbarschaften
Botswana

kategorie
Entwurf, Forschung

Foto: Flavia Matei

Botswana ist ein Land mit mittlerem Einkommen, das einen raschen Kulturwandel und eine rasante Verstädterung erlebt, was zu einer wachsenden Nachfrage nach neuen Häusern und sozialen Räumen sowohl in der Hauptstadt Gaborone als auch in den umliegenden Dörfern führt. Das ohnehin schon extreme Klima mit sehr heißen Sommern und kalten Wintern wird durch die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels noch verstärkt. Das Wohnungsangebot hat Mühe, die Nachfrage sowohl quantitativ als auch qualitativ zu befriedigen. Viele Neubauten sind unzulänglich angepasst an den klimatischen und kulturellen Kontext. Die verwendeten Materialien werden häufig aus dem asiatischen Raum importiert und haben einen großen ökologischen Fußabdruck. Die Entwicklung weg vom Leben in relativ kleinen Dorfgemeinschaften hin zum Leben in größeren Stadtvierteln verlangt nach einer neue Arten von Gemeinschaftsräumen.

Im Oktober 2019 besuchten BASEhabitat-StudentInnen Botswana auf einer Forschungsreise, um den lokalen Kontext kennenzulernen und wichtige Verbindungen zu lokalen ProjektpartnerInnen wie HausbesitzerInnen, ArchitektInnen und IngenieurInnen sowie zu Organisationen wie der University of Botswana und der Botswana Housing Corporation (die Regierungsbehörde, die für die Bereitstellung von Sozialwohnungen zuständig ist) herzustellen.

Die Studierenden erarbeiten derzeit eine Reihe von Entwürfen zur Verbesserung der Wohnverhältnisse und zur Entwicklung von Stadtvierteln, die auf die kulturellen, klimatischen, ökologischen und wirtschaftlichen Zwänge reagieren. Diese Vorschläge betreffen verschiedene Bereiche des Wohnungsbaus in Botswana, sowohl im kommerziellen als auch im öffentlichen Sektor.

Die Vorschläge werden dann unseren PartnerInnen in Botswana vorgestellt und gemeinsam mit ihnen weiterentwickelt. Sie bilden die Grundlage für einen längerfristigen Dialog und eine dauerhafte Zusammenarbeit.

Zusammenfassung zum Botswana Projekt, Juli 2020

Projektauswahl der Studierenden
SHHA house+
Productive Homes, self help housing
Ramotswa New Kgotla

„Wir stellen uns der Aufgabe, zum Thema Wohnen in Botswana zu forschen und Lösungen zu entwickeln, die architektonisch anspruchsvoll und nachhal­tig sind.“

Flavia Matei (teacher BASEhabitat)

Fotos: Flavia Matei

Design Lena Teufl

Design Daniela Lockowandt

Design Franziska Brandenstein

Recherche und Entwurf
Franziska Brandenstein, Stefanie Hueber, Adnane Karouach, Daniela Lockowandt, Annette Strack, Lena Lisbeth Teufl, Julia Treitinger, Jamie Wagner, Vinzent Wallner

Entwurfsbetreuung
Sigi Atteneder, Elisa Engel, Flavia Matei

Beratung
Dominik Abbrederis

Sponsor
Citizen Architects
Karl Zünd Stiftung